giveaways!

Ashes of a Black Frost (11/1) | The Shattered Vine (11/3)
Coming soon:

drey's Giveaway Policy

FTC Disclosure: I am an affiliate at IndieBound, The Book Depository, and Amazon, and any purchases made by clicking on covers or links here may result in monetary compensation.

Blog Tour: Christopher Meeks' (140.) Love at Absolute Zero...

October 14, 2011
I'm pleased as punch to be part of the blog tour for Christopher Meeks' Love at Absolute Zero... I mean, the main character is a geek, he's in Wisconsin, and his method of finding love is unconventional to say the least!


About the author:
Christopher Meeks began as a playwright and has had three plays produced. Who Lives? A Drama is published. His short stories have been published in Rosebud, The Clackamas Literary Review, The Santa Barbara Review, The Southern California Anthology, The Gander Review, and other journals and are available in two collections, The Middle-Aged Man and the Sea and Months and Seasons. He has two novels, The Brightest Moon of the Century, a story that Marc Schuster of Small Press Reviews describes as "a great and truly humane novel in the tradition of Charles Dickens and John Irving," and his new comic novel, Love At Absolute Zero.

Find Christopher online at his website http://christophermeeks.weebly.com/ and on twitter.

About the book:
"Love at Absolute Zero" is the story of Gunnar Gunderson, a 32-year-old star physicist at the University of Wisconsin. The moment he’s given tenure at the university, he can only think of one thing: finding a wife. His research falters into what happens to matter near absolute zero (−459.67 °F), but he has an instant new plan. To meet his soul mate within three days--that’s what he wants and the time he can carve out--he will use the Scientific Method. His research team will help. Can Gunnar survive his quest?

“As if Einstein didn’t struggle hard enough failing at a unified field theory,” says Philip Persinger, author of Do The Math, “Meeks ups the ante by tossing philosophy, anthropology, hashish, and love (with a capital L) into the mix. And while we’re so sorry, Uncle Albert, in 'Love At Absolute Zero,' Meeks succeeds absolutely.”

ISBN-13: 9780983632917
ARC: 300 pages
Publisher: White Whisker Books, 2011
Purchase at IndieBound, Amazon, The Book Depository Source: Virtual Author Book Tours

drey's thoughts:
Gunnar Gunderson is a geek (yes, he is) who gets hit with the revelation that he doesn't want to live out the rest of his life alone. So he decides it's time to find love. But where? And how? And oh my gosh, he's only got three days to do it!

So the scientist sets out to conquer matters of the heart,  scientifically (of course). And what follows is sheer entertainment, as he sits thru speed-dating, runs into former classmates, fends off an over-zealous student, and falls--hard--for a Danish visitor. One of my favorite parts of the story is when Gunnar is giving his lecture in Copenhagen. If my Physics professor had started out my class with that, I might not have lost interest completely...

Love at Absolute Zero is funny and warm. Gunnar is so smart, yet has a sense of humor he rarely let show through. His buddies are hilarious, with references to Queer Eye for the Straight Guy and Extreme Makeover as they attempt to help Gunnar get set up right for his "dates". And boy, the things Gunnar does... I guess when you really want something, you go all out.

There's a lot of physics references thrown around--don't let that intimidate you. You don't need to know what he's talking about, to know this man on a mission isn't going to let anything stand in the way of finding true love. I'm just impressed that Christopher Meeks makes it all sound so easy.

Will Gunnar find his happily-ever-after? Well, you'll have to read Love at Absolute Zero to find out...

drey's rating: Pick it up!

Giveaway!
Thanks to Virtual Author Book Tours, I have one copy of Love at Absolute Zero for you. This one is open internationally--an international winner will receive an e-copy, a US/Canada winner will get their choice of an e-copy or a paper copy.  To enter, just fill out the form below before October 28th. Good luck!

3 comments:

Post a Comment

have a thought to share? I love comments!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

what's here...


Powered by Blogger Widgets

history...